They pretend to teach….

From the Washington Post we get a letter from a former teacher,
‘I would love to teach but…’:

I am paid to give out gold stars to everyone so that no one feels left out, to give everyone an A because they feel sad if they don’t have one. I take the perpetual, insane harassment from parents who insist that their child’s failings are solely my fault because I do not coddle them to the point of being unable to accept any sort of critique; if each student is not perfect and prepared for college and life by age twelve, then I must be wrong about the quality of their work. I lower my own standards so much that I have been thinking my grades were generous. After years of being harangued, I gave Bs to D-quality work, but that is never good enough. All I can do is field the various phone calls, meetings, and e-mails, to let myself be abused, slandered, spit at because that is my career, taking the fall for our country’s mistakes and skewed priorities. So if you want your child to get an education, then I’m afraid that as a teacher, I can’t help you, but feel free to stop by if you want a sticker and a C.

RS McCain cheers the decline of the public education system. I morn the loss of real teaching. Like the teacher who wrote the letter, I read Charles Dickens, Kurt Vonnegut, Aurthur C. Clarke, Frank Herbert and Shakespeare in school. I loved it so much I read on my own.

Liberals took George Bush’s No Child Left Behind and ran with it. They love things like common core and giving everyone “gold stars” because then they please everyone. Education, from kindergarten to College is this self licking ice cream cone: they pretend to teach and sell college (with borrowed money) and the kids feed into the system that pays for bloated college tuition and politicians who coddle the teachers unions.

When the education bubble bursts, expect the left to cry foul but the rest of America to pick up the pieces.

Leave a Reply

